What is retrofit?

Retrofit - fit for today's challenges

Retrofitting is all about bringing an outdated or defective machine tool up-to-date with new components. An ageing machine is made fit for new challenges.

There are many reasons for a retrofit in mechanical engineering. For example, if the desired precision or processing speed can no longer be achieved. Or if new products are to be manufactured under changed technical conditions. The integration of old machines into a modern industry 4.0 production is also possible through a complete refurbishment.

A machine refurbishment improves productivity

A retrofit helps to improve the productivity of a machine tool and make it ready for new tasks and requirements. This makes sense, because many components are still in good condition even after many years of use. Especially an old machine base frame can be very valuable when it comes to achieving top tolerances. In addition, the modernization of a used machine is good for the environment because it conserves valuable resources.

A machine modernization makes many things possible: from the replacement of wear parts to a complete refurbishment that raises the level and performance of your "used" machine tool to that of a new machine tool. Customers often want a subsequent adaptation of the control system, drive or automation elements to increase productivity even further.

Why retrofit?

Why retrofit?

Refurbishing your existing machine

As a member of the CHIRON Group, we at CMS exclusively offer retrofit services for the group's machine manufacturers operating worldwide. CHIRON primarily stands for speed and productivity while at STAMA, the emphasis is on robust milling machines and heavy cutting and SCHERER relies on multifunctional vertical pickup turning centers.

The three companies stand for mechanical engineering with high quality standards. Their machine tools are characterized by highest productivity, a solid structure as well as the greatest possible reliability and precision. These are important prerequisites that make the modernization of an existing machine a worthwhile investment.

Why is retrofitting your machine tool a good idea?

  • Increase in productivity at a small price: a retrofit is about 30 to 60% cheaper than the purchase of a comparable new machine
  • Short delivery times: instead of having to wait 4 to 8 months for a new purchase, a refurbishing takes only 6 to 12 weeks, depending on the effort involved
  • Additional cost savings: When a refurbished machine tool is used, your employees can work directly on the machine without additional training. Existing tools, devices and programs can continue to be used and there is no need for a new machine foundation
Before
After

Why is it worthwhile to retrofit with CMS?

  • CMS knows the special features and technical details of each machine from CHIRON, STAMA and SCHERER like no other
  • Thanks to our many years of experience, we at CMS can assess exactly what is feasible and worthwhile when refurbishing your machine
  • We check and modernize each machine exactly according to the customer's requirements
  • A complete refurbishment achieves the accuracy of a new machine tool
  • We use original parts from the manufacturers and have direct access to all drawings and documentation of the series
  • All retrofitted machines receive complete and up-to-date documentation. In addition, all changes are stored in the database of the respective manufacturer and can be called up for future service requests
  • We offer our customers an extensive range of services
  • Turnkey projects are possible with us

Experience retrofit

Before/after a machine refurbishment

Old and modernized in direct comparison

Click on the red dots and experience the effect of a machine tool retrofit using selected examples.

Retrofit categories

Custom retrofit for CHIRON, STAMA and SCHERER

From functional tested to complete refurbished: retrofitting for every requirement

There are three retrofit steps at CMS: the functional check, the partly refubishing and the complete refurbishing of a CHIRON, STAMA or SCHERER machine tool. At the end, the machine will be tested in continuous run and subjected to a quality check.

In addition, all equipment options of the manufacturers can be add to the or your machine. In this way, your retrofit machine can be adapted exactly to your requirements.

LOW
Function-tested machining center

New:
Defective parts that are necessary for machine operation are replaced

Quality features:
8 hours continuous run, NAS part, geometry protocol

Full functionality

MEDIUM
Partly refurbished machining center

New:
All the parts required for function & reliability are replaced

Quality features:
50 hours continuous run, quick-check, NAS part, geometry protocol

3 months warranty

Meets the high criteria of the CHIRON Group

HIGH
Completely refurbished machining center

New:
all components which are important for function & precision are NEW

Quality features:
100 hours continuous run, quick-check, NAS part, geometry protocol

Tolerances:
Accuracy as-new machines

6 months warranty

AS NEW

Sustainability

Save resources: retrofit instead of new purchase

Give your machine tool a second life

Sustainability means not only the economical use of raw materials and higher energy efficiency, but also the preservation of values. Machine tools have a value. And that's exactly what we do: refurbishing and modernize machines, so they go back on the market as good as new. This is how we preserve value.

With a machining center from our CHIRON Group manufacturers, you don't have to worry about life-cycle limits. Because we put sustainability into practice. We will ensure that the characteristic reliability and quality of our products lasts for decades.

Was ist Retrofit?

Retrofit – für aktuelle Herausforderungen fit gemacht

Bei einem Retrofit geht es darum, eine veraltete oder defekte Werkzeugmaschine durch neue Bauteile auf einen aktuellen technischen Stand zu bringen. Das englische Wort „retrofit“ macht das deutlicher als die deutschen Begriffe „Nachrüsten“ oder „Umrüsten“. Eine in die Jahre gekommene Maschine wird fit gemacht für neue Herausforderungen.

Die Gründe für ein Retrofit im Maschinenbau sind zahlreich. Zum Beispiel, wenn die gewünschte Präzision oder Bearbeitungsgeschwindigkeit nicht mehr erreicht werden. Oder wenn neue Produkte unter veränderten technischen Bedingungen hergestellt werden sollen. Auch die Integration alter Maschinen in eine moderne Industrie 4.0-Fertigung wird durch eine Komplettüberholung möglich.

Eine Maschinenüberholung verbessert die Produktivität

Ein Retrofit hilft dabei, die Produktivität einer Werkzeugmaschine zu verbessern und sie für neue Aufgaben und Anforderungen bereit zu machen. Das lohnt sich, denn viele Komponenten sind auch nach langjährigem Einsatz noch gut erhalten. Gerade ein altes Maschinenuntergestell kann sehr wertvoll sein, wenn es darum geht, Top-Toleranzen zu erzielen. Darüber hinaus ist die Modernisierung einer Gebrauchtmaschine nachhaltig, denn sie schont wertvolle Ressourcen.

Möglich ist bei einer Maschinenmodernisierung vieles: vom Austausch von Verschleißteilen bis zur kompletten Überholung, die Ihre „Gebrauchte“ auf den Stand und die Leistungsfähigkeit einer neuwertigen Werkzeugmaschine anhebt. Oft gewünscht wird auch eine nachträgliche Anpassung von Steuerung, Antrieb oder Automatisierungselementen, die die Produktivität zusätzlich steigert.

Warum Retrofit?

Warum Retrofit?

Überholung Ihrer Bestandsmaschine

Als Unternehmen der CHIRON Group bieten wir von CMS exklusiv Retrofit-Dienstleistungen für die weltweit agierenden Maschinenhersteller der Gruppe. CHIRON steht dabei vor allem für Dynamik und Produktivität, bei STAMA liegt der Schwerpunkt auf robusten Fräsmaschinen und Schwerzerspanung, SCHERER setzt auf multifunktionale Vertikal-Pickup-Drehbearbeitungszentren.

Die drei Unternehmen stehen für einen Maschinenbau mit hohem Qualitätsanspruch. Ihre Werkzeugmaschinen zeichnen sich durch höchste Produktivität, einen soliden Aufbau sowie größtmögliche Zuverlässigkeit und Präzision aus. Das sind wichtige Voraussetzungen dafür, dass sich die Modernisierung einer Bestandsmaschine lohnt.

Wieso lohnt sich das Retrofit Ihrer Werkzeugmaschine?

  • Produktivitätssteigerung zum kleinen Preis: ein Retrofit ist etwa 30 bis 60 % günstiger als der Kauf einer vergleichbaren Neumaschine
  • Kurze Lieferzeiten: statt bei einem Neukauf 4 bis 8 Monate zu warten, dauert eine Überholung je nach Aufwand nur 6 bis 12 Wochen
  • Zusatzkosten sparen: Beim Einsatz einer überholten Werkzeugmaschine können Ihre Mitarbeiter ohne zusätzliche Schulung direkt an der Maschine arbeiten, vorhandene Werkzeuge, Vorrichtungen und Programme lassen sich weiter nutzen und ein neues Maschinenfundament ist überflüssig
Before
After

Warum lohnt sich ein Retrofit bei CMS?

  • CMS kennt wie kein anderer die Besonderheiten und technischen Feinheiten jeder Maschine von CHIRON, STAMA und SCHERER
  • Durch unsere langjährige Erfahrung können wir bei CMS genau abschätzen, was beim Retrofit Ihrer Maschine machbar und lohnenswert ist
  • Wir überprüfen und modernisieren jede Maschine exakt entsprechend den Kundenanforderungen
  • Eine Komplettüberholung erreicht die Genauigkeit einer neuwertigen Werkzeugmaschine
  • Wir nutzen Originalteile der Hersteller und haben direkten Zugriff auf alle Zeichnungen und Dokumentationen der Baureihen
  • Alle Retrofit-Maschinen erhalten eine vollständige und aktuelle Dokumentation, darüber hinaus werden alle Änderungen in der Datenbank des jeweiligen Herstellers gespeichert und stehen für künftige Serviceanfragen abrufbereit zur Verfügung
  • Wir bieten unseren Kunden ein umfangreiches Dienstleistungsspektrum
  • Mit uns sind Turnkey-Projekte möglich

Retrofit erleben

Vorher/Nachher einer Maschinenüberholung

Alt und modernisiert im direkten Vergleich

Klicken Sie auf die roten Punkte und erleben Sie anhand von ausgewählten Beispielen den Effekt eines Werkzeugmaschinen-Retrofits.

Überholkategorien

Retrofit nach Maß für CHIRON, STAMA und SCHERER

Von der Funktionsprüfung bis zur Komplettüberholung: Retrofit für jede Anforderung

Bei CMS gibt es drei Retrofit-Stufen: die Funktionsprüfung, die Teilüberholung und die Komplettüberholung einer Werkzeugmaschine von CHIRON, STAMA oder SCHERER. Zum Abschluss wird diese Maschine im Dauerbetrieb getestet und einem Qualitäts-Check unterzogen.

Darüber hinaus stehen Ihnen alle Ausstattungsoptionen der Hersteller zur Verfügung, mit denen wir diese oder ihre Maschine aufrüsten können. So lässt sich Ihre Retrofit-Maschine genau auf Ihre Anforderungen anpassen.

LOW
Funktionsgeprüfte Maschine

Neu:
Defekte Teile, die für den Maschinenbetrieb notwendig sind, werden ersetzt

Qualitätsmerkmale:
8 Stunden Dauerlauf, NAS-Teil, Geometrie-Protokoll

Volle Funktionalität

MEDIUM
Teilüberholte Maschine

Neu:
alle für die Funktion & Zuverlässigkeit benötigten Teile werden ersetzt

Qualitätsmerkmal:
50 Stunden Dauerlauf, Quick-Check, NAS Teil, Geometrie-Protokoll

3 Monate Gewährleistung

Erfüllt die hohen Kriterien der CHIRON Group

HIGH
Komplett überholte Maschine

Neu:
alle für die Funktion & Präzision maßgeblichen Komponenten sind NEU

Qualitätsmerkmal:
100 Stunden Dauerlauf, Quick-Check, NAS Teil, Geometrie-Protokoll

Toleranzen:
Neumaschinentoleranzen

6 Monate Gewährleistung

Neuwertig

Nachhaltigkeit

Ressourcen sparen: Retrofit statt Neukauf

Geben Sie Ihrer Werkzeugmaschine ein zweites Leben

Nachhaltigkeit bedeutet nicht nur der sparsame Umgang mit Rohstoffen und eine höhere Energieeffizienz, sondern auch die Bewahrung von Werten. Werkzeugmaschinen sind ein Wert. Und genau das machen wir, Maschinen überholen, modernisieren und dem Markt wieder wie neu zur Verfügung stellen. Also bewahren.

Bei einem Bearbeitungszentrum unserer CHIRON Group-Hersteller müssen Sie sich nicht um die Grenzen seines Lebenszyklus sorgen. Denn wir leben Nachhaltigkeit. Wir kümmern uns darum, dass die Zuverlässigkeit sowie die Qualität, die unsere Produkte ausmacht, auf Jahrzehnte bestehen bleibt.